• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Who here is in IT?

RumRogerz

TRIBE Member
I'm still trucking along in school right now. I finish in October. Today, I just passed my 70-412 exam (by a hair no doubt) and have obtained my MSCA for Windows Server 2012 R2.
Pretty happy with myself, I must say. My next goal is my CCNA which I have begun studying for - after which, I would like to get my CompTIA Linux + certification as I feel it would help me as I would like to focus on securities (pen testing and all that jazz)

If I have these certs under my belt, will this at least get my foot in the door for an interview? I have no idea how this works - I've been bartending for the last 13 years.

Lojack

TRIBE Member
The certs will get you in the door. Demonstrable real world knowledge will help as well (certs vs real world, yes its a thing). Stay current with relevant mailing lists, twitter feeds etc. Know your chosen area inside and out. Try to know about something first (or as close to as possible), be the one to teach others the latest techniques and technologies.

You'll start at the bottom, and the pay and hours will suck. Prove yourself and you can move up quickly. Don't be afraid to change jobs if a better opportunity comes along. Life is short. I've moved around a bit, and moved up each time. 12+ hour days, at the office and then studying/working from home were not uncommon for a long time.

After a lateral career change post dot com from systems to networks, I went from making very good coin to making $10/hour part time (work was tough to get immediate post-bubble blowup). That lasted two months, when I proved myself to the owner of the company and was given significant bump in pay and responsibilities). Those two months sucked, but I worked hard and did it. Some coworkers were not happy, but so what.

Good luck :)

Aaron Bradley