• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

What DAW do you use?

Deus

TRIBE Member
I recently stumbled upon Studio One by PreSonus. I don't know why I didn't know about it before, but I'm loving it. I've been messing about with Cubase for 15 years now, but once I tried the demo of this DAW I was converted. So easy to use and has all the features that I always wished Cubase would have. Steinberg is just too stuck in their ways and does not think outside the box. This was created by a core group of ex-Steinberg developers so a lot of the functionality is the same as Cubase, but with a modern and intuative twist, yet it feels comfortable for and old Cubase user.

Anyway, just thought I'd let everyone know. If you're frustrated with your current daw, give it a go and see how you like it. Everything is drag and drop and very intuative. :thumbsup:

Sal De Ban

TRIBE Member
Deus, you dangerous motherfucker. Tryin to entice a long-time cubase guy like me to switch to another daw. A few years ago I was against cubase even. I cant change now. But you make quite a compelling case in just a few short sentences i must say. Cubase 5 for......life......?.....well at least for another couple years....;)

Deus

TRIBE Member
A friend of mine swears by Ableton Live and say he can slap together some really complex grooves in no time. I have Lite version of Live and I've loaded it up a few times, but I am only slowly learning the concepts behind it. I am a MIDI guy at heart and I still like oldschool style samplers like Kotakt where an audio channel is assigned to a midi channel.

This same friend has been trying to convince me to ditch Cubase for Ableton, and I always told him that I'm a Cubaser for life. Apparently not so... :)