• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, Toronto's largest and longest running online community. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register on the forum. You can register with your facebook ID or with an email address. Join us!

Water- or Air-cooling?

What type of cooling should I get for the CPU?

• Total voters

Rocky

TRIBE Member
Finally pulled the trigger on some new computer parts. I've had my current PC since 2008 with only some minor upgrades since. With things starting to slow down, I decided it was time for a real upgrade.

Here is what I have on the way:
  • MSI Z170A XPOWER Gaming Titanium Edition ATX LGA1151
  • Intel® Core™ I7-6700K
  • EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW Gaming ACX 3.0

Going to get about 32GB of DDR4 as well, probably some 3200 Mhz TridentZ, and am thinking about what type of cooling to get.

Should I get a AIO water-cooler for the CPU? Or is air-cooling better? I'll probably over-clock it (which I've never done before). How about the GPU?

djfear

TRIBE Member
Nice one! I'm also eyeing that 6700K processor. A different motherboard and I already have an SSD and a GTX 960 so it's good enough for me. My existing computer's architecture is also from 2008!

I think for the cooling it depends, if you do plan on over clocking then I would say to go for it. There's also the loudness aspect of cooling to take into account, so bigger fans are essential.

What kind of power supply do you have? I believe I have a 750Watt right now. Hopefully it's enough for the 1151 architecture + all of those power hungry components.

Lojack

TRIBE Member