• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Wacom Grapphire vs Intuos tablets

rentboy

TRIBE Member
oi.

i've been using a Grapphire tablet for a few years now. I need to purchase a new one and have been contemplating shelling out for the Intuos.

So, is it really worth it?

thanks

zoo

TRIBE Member
i just googled it and it doesn't look a whole lot different from the graphire

i use the graphire as a mouse replacement, though i alternate between pen and mouse these days to keep the RSI damage spread more thinly ..

rentboy

TRIBE Member
zoo said:
i just googled it and it doesn't look a whole lot different from the graphire

i use the graphire as a mouse replacement, though i alternate between pen and mouse these days to keep the RSI damage spread more thinly ..

i draw alot with mine, so i'm curious if there's really a big difference regarding pen handling/stroke pressure, etc with the Intuos.

Rataxès

TRIBE Member
I have a Graphire 4. I've also had an older Intuous 2. Both are 4x5.

For basic drawing I don't think you're going to find much difference. I believe that the Graphire support 1024 levels of pressure, the Intuous 2048, but in real life, I'm not sure if you'll see anything. I find the Graphire to be smooth with good sampling - I odn;t see how the Intuous could be that much of an improvement. The Intuous has tilt sensing, but only Painter takes advantage of this IIRC.

Intuous supports different tools (pen, mouse, CAD puck, airbrush) Graphire doesn't other than the pen and mouse. Intuous also has a bunch of hot-keys that can be programmed with software to make it easier to performs operations; Graphire has a roller input and two hot keys so you're more limited.

If you're only using the tablet for cursor control and drawing, I'd say go Graphire; if you want something that has more flexibility, the Inuous might be the better answer.