• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Toronto Urban Roots Festival Day 1 at Fort York; Thursday July 4, 2013

forthetrees

TRIBE Member
Attending just two days of this delightful festival made me feel incredibly grateful to have lived in Toronto. I use the word lived because for the last two years I have been a resident of the bustling city of Guelph, living the life of a transplanted Toronto concert goer.

With that being said, I could enjoy small bits of the Toronto Urban Roots Festival (TURF) and only have an hour commute to see anything. I wouldn’t be surprised if you haven’t heard of TURF as it felt like the underrated Toronto festival of the summer, lost in the shadow of Field Trip, hometown heroes Broken Social Scene’s gig just a couple of weeks before, also at Fort York. I managed to make the big trek to catch the bookends of the festival, leaving out two of the four days. A four-day festival is quite an ambitious feat, for even the best promotion companies in the world. The festival’s Creative Director Jeff Cohen, who also owns Lee’s Palace, the Horseshoe Tavern, and Collective Concerts, was bang on in creating a weekend-long indie music festival for Toronto. Given a few years, TURF could become what Osheaga is to Montreal and what Hillside is to Guelph, however it sure has a long way to go.

Horrendous weather conditions aside, the stage layout worked really well. No bands were missed, as there was no overlapping of sets like Field Trip a few weeks before. With that being said, the festival could have been shortened a few days had they more stages, which would have certainly received my undivided attendance.