• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!
14K Cannabis seed slider pendants by tribe

The Depression Tips and Tricks Thread

SellyCat

TRIBE Member
The Depression Tips and Tricks Thread

…Not to be confused with the Domestic Tips and Tricks thread..

This thread is for people to share their coping strategies and tactics in dealing with depression. Depression can take different forms, but there are some universal “best practices” available to make sure you keep your body and mind as healthy as can be expected under the circumstances.

Some of what I’m going to share is counter intuitive, but I’ll explain why it works. I have a lot of experience with this because I read a TON about this kind of stuff and some of my best friends and I have gone through depression(s) together with the very deliberate goal of fighting and beating it.

• It’s important to identify that you’re actually depressed. I know this sounds cliché, but it allows you to deal with your situation in a different context. Sometimes it can seem like there is one main issue, when in fact it’s something a lot deeper or more pattern-oriented masquerading as on thing that you’re obsessing over.
  • Recognise and appreciate that your perceptions are unstable and not as reliable as they usually are. This is not to say that you shouldn’t go with your gut, but if you notice that you are getting into fights with friends, generally paranoid, over-analysing, and having mood swings, then acknowledge that you may be over-sensitive for a while. I’m going through a rough patch and it’s amazing how my perspective can change within ONE HOUR, or over the course of a meal. I’ll feel a certain way in the morning, and then the opposite at night. This is a dead give-away that something is generally wrong. Govern your impulses to avoid needless friction and trouble. (see below).