• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, Toronto's largest and longest running online community. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register on the forum. You can register with your facebook ID or with an email address. Join us!

Switching master hard drive from one pc to another / doesnt boot

bucky

TRIBE Member
I've never done this before, so maybe I'm missing something or it just might not work. Anyways, I have a p2 350, was given an amd 700.. figured I'd switch all the hardware from one to the other. Put the hard drive in, turned on the amd system, started to boot, then saw a blue screen and it rebooted. Tried to boot to safe mode, shows the multi disk lines, then reboots. The hard drive has XP Pro on it.

Any ideas/suggestions?

randyval

TRIBE Member
Originally posted by bucky
I've never done this before, so maybe I'm missing something or it just might not work. Anyways, I have a p2 350, was given an amd 700.. figured I'd switch all the hardware from one to the other. Put the hard drive in, turned on the amd system, started to boot, then saw a blue screen and it rebooted. Tried to boot to safe mode, shows the multi disk lines, then reboots. The hard drive has XP Pro on it.

Any ideas/suggestions?
i would recomend a format and clean install.
but if thats not an option, boot your winXP cd and do a repair.
dont forget all your service packs and security updates, you will need to reinstall them.
make sure you dont go online without firewall and antivirus.
good luck:)

Hypnotoad

TRIBE Member
hmm yes. trying to switch motherboard and processor types will require a lot of work. Even if "repair" works, I have a feeling it will be unstable as hell. Well, more unstable than typical windows.

Clean install is definitely the best option.

bucky

TRIBE Member
was hoping that wouldn't be the case. Oh well, seems like buying a 2nd hdd and more ram is easier than backing up a 60gb hdd.

Thanks!!

Bass-Invader

TRIBE Member