• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, Toronto's largest and longest running online community. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register on the forum. You can register with your facebook ID or with an email address. Join us!

Smoking fine on the TTC

d.code

TRIBE Member
$170!

Someone tried to warn me but the officer made it to me first.

Im going to plead guilty and hopefully get a slap on the wrist.

Im totally disgusting for smoking in people's personal area.

unique2100

TRIBE Promoter
Plead guilty and tell them you're a poor student and didnt know it was a non smoking area (i'm assuming you were smoking on a outdoor platform, not a bus or train or indoor platform). I plead guilty for riding the go train with no ticket, (couldnt find it in my bag) and I said I was a student fien reduced to $0.

d.code

TRIBE Member
No i was totally smoking in the actual subway car.*

*not really.

That whats the officer told me. Im a security guard too and we ended up having a good little chat about how much our jobs suck sometimes when you have to do things like this.

d.code

TRIBE Member
Kipling station waiting for the 191.. it was the first smoke of the day too! It was a good 4-5 hours coming- I got 2 nice drags out of it before I threw it.

T

TRIBE Member
that happened to me once at Wilson Station during high school.

I refused to give him any of my personal information, and decided to walk away. since hes not allowed to restrain you, he just watched me walk away..

perhaps things have changed since then in terms of how much power ttc "security" have.

ila

TRIBE Member
oh wow. I didn't even know you weren't allowed to smoke on the platform anymore. I see people doing it at Kipling all the time.

not that I smoke now, but if I ever decide to start again, I'll keep this in mind.

go to court and get it reduced. it was an honest mistake, obviously.

d.code

TRIBE Member
Originally posted by mr tall
a security guard fined you ?