• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Shitty Bosses and HR

Primavera

TRIBE Member
setting: I work in an office, 900 employees.
I've been working there for 9 years.

I have a boss that basically hates me and is making my work as difficult and stressful as possible. I think this person just wants me to quit the company or is trying to strongly encourgage me to find another position in the company.

you think there is any point to going to HR and asking to transfer to another department? or just seeing their opinion in the mess? I don't have a lot of senior figures in the company to mentor me on what to do. This is the first time in 9 years and 5 different bosses at my company that I've ever had a shitty boss who just seems intent on busting my ass over every tiny issue.

Will HR basically tell you just to apply for positions yourself in another department or will they try and help you find another home?

thoughts.

acheron

TRIBE Member
You could just keep an eye out for positions that might work for you and apply internally. It couldn't hurt to involve HR in some way to tell them that you are interested in a change, new experience, broaden your horizons sort of thing. All of this can be achieved without going negative and trashing your boss which might backfire. You never know who knows who.

praktik

TRIBE Member
Ya change it up - i've come to believe nothing is more important than having a good boss.

THey can turn your work life into heaven or hell. Serious career damage can happen to you if you languish too long under a bad boss.

Jeffsus

TRIBE Member
setting: I work in an office, 900 employees.
I've been working there for 9 years.