• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Red Bull similar to GHB?

tribe cannabis accessories silver grinders

Michlerish

Well-Known TRIBEr
It's always been known that this is really bad to do... the news is a little late with this one (as usual).

Just like coke and alcohol, it's extremely bad for your heart, but people aren't going to stop doing it.

Banning red bull would be retarded, I like to drink red bull when I'm studying and such.

That was really interesting about glucuronolactone being in it... I wonder why? Was the news just exaggerating about the similarites to ghb?

Also interesting that it's got 20 times the daily intake of Taurine and caffiene equivalent to two cups of coffee.

Michlerish

Well-Known TRIBEr
What is it and where does it come from?

Glucuronolactone (glucuronic acid lactone) is a natural metabolite found in the body.

Because Glucuronolactone was used as a drug during the Vietnam conflict to supply energy and feelings of well being to soldiers in combat, it was believed widely that Glucuronolactone was developed by the United States Government. Because Glucuronolactone is naturally occurring, this claim is false and no evidence exists to support this claim.

What does it do and what scientific studies give evidence to support this?

Glucuronolactone is a popular ingredient in energy drinks. Most of these drinks contain caffeine, but Glucuronolactone is included because it not only supplies energy, it also increases feelings of well-being.

Glucuronolactone has been clinically proven to reduce sleepiness and sleep-related driving incidents under conditions of afternoon monotonous driving following sleep restriction the night before.1 It is widely known to improve mental performance, reaction time, concentration and memory.2,3,4

Who needs it and what are some symptoms of deficiency?