• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Record Label Question

Hispeeddub

TRIBE Member
If I am a producer who get one of my tracks signed to a label, what percentage of the consumer price (the amount the person on the street pays) do I receive as compensation for my work? I’m assuming this would be relative to the specific arrangement ( ie producer is the label owner as well) so it could vary depending on the situation, so I’m just looking for some round about figures.

Thanks in advance

oddmud

TRIBE Member
You can expect anywhere from 25%-50% after the label has recovered costs. Which usually isn't all that much.

If you slowly get a demand for your product. I'd suggest getting a certain amount in advance for any of your tracks, even if it's a small amount. This promises that you won't get absolutely screwed by the record company. If they trust that your product will sell, they shouldn't have a problem with a minimal advance.

Hispeeddub

TRIBE Member
Ok i guess i should have worded it like this.
As a consumer I pay approximately $18 lets say for a 12”realease.
How much of that $18 actually makes it to the producer? I’m guessing not much...

tribe cannabis accessories silver grinders

Simon_Paul

TRIBE Member
An average figure would be around $.50/record but again this is after the label breaks even (mainly only if your a new artist). As Oddmud said, once your somewhat established you can almost always get an advance based on the low estimate of units sold.