• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Question: How do you get into construction work?

Spiritual_Thang

TRIBE Member
As a university student, I find all career websites are tailored towards office jobs, or larger corporations.

Where do you go to find out opportunities/listings for construction jobs, or jobs that require skilled trades? Is there a specialized career website, or paper-listing for them? Or do most reno-companies hire through the buddy system?

Any help would be appreciated.

judge wopner

TRIBE Member
Originally posted by Spiritual_Thang
As a university student, I find all career websites are tailored towards office jobs, or larger corporations.

Where do you go to find out opportunities/listings for construction jobs, or jobs that require skilled trades? Is there a specialized career website, or paper-listing for them? Or do most reno-companies hire through the buddy system?

Any help would be appreciated.
check hrdc's website for local spots to call and get info, usually you have to be part of the union to do formal skilled trades work on the big sites,

small contractors you'd probally have to contact one by one or use a temp agency that looks out for skilled/labourers.

X_Door

TRIBE Member
Do you possess a particular trade and/or apprenticed in any trade?

Usually young people who are interested in pursuing a career in the construction industry begin by way of an apprenticeship. After completing the requisite number of hours according to the Ministry of Labour then you are eligible to write your exam and obtain your trade "ticket."

Trade union membership is optional and in some cases it works to your disadvantage. When you get to that point in your career you'll understand what I am talking about.

Here's a great website that will give you a lot of information to work with: