• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Question about needled/cartridges

aki

TRIBE Promoter
Is expensive really that much better? I'm using Stanton 500 series right now and wondering if I should upgrade.

Probably a stupid question but, is it more than just sound quality that makes a needle better? I'm not playing out anywhere right now, but I will be making CD's. For that purpose should I use better needles such as Ortofons or the Stanton Trackmaster series?

Yeah, I'm a newbie who knows nothing about this stuff so I really appreciate your suggestions.

quantumdj

TRIBE Member
I alays found a huge difference whan I upgraded my cartridges. I switched to stanton iTracks a few years ago, and I recently switched to Ortofon Concorde DJ-E's. I find that it is worth the money to just go and buy the ortofon's. There is a marked difference in sound quality, trackng ability, and basically every other category I can think of.

peace,
Dave
alphastate~

Cheap Ego

TRIBE Member
Originally posted by quantumdj
I alays found a huge difference whan I upgraded my cartridges. I switched to stanton iTracks a few years ago, and I recently switched to Ortofon Concorde DJ-E's. I find that it is worth the money to just go and buy the ortofon's. There is a marked difference in sound quality, trackng ability, and basically every other category I can think of.

peace,
Dave
alphastate~
But i compared the Frequency Response on Stanton 500's to a high end pair and it was the same... the only thing that looked different was the actual output level.

:confused:

RyanMarcus

TRIBE Member
Concordes rule!