• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, Toronto's largest and longest running online community. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register on the forum. You can register with your facebook ID or with an email address. Join us!

My computer sucks right now... help.

Mmmmmmladen

TRIBE Member
Ok... I am by no means a novice with computers, but for some reason my computer is running extra slow and I can't do anything to fix it. It's not that old. I can barely run three programs at the same time without it practically freezing.

Can you guys give me some suggestions how I can speed it up?

I have deleted programs I don't need, defrag'd my drive, ran disk clean up, ran my adaware and spybot programs. I was going to start messing around with my msconfig, but everytime I do that I fuck up my McAfee...

so... thoughts?

oddmyth

TRIBE Member
try a different defragging program. The Windows defragger like the rest of the OS add-ons is a pile of shit.

The Watcher

TRIBE Member
Do you have alot of stuff in your "My documents" folder?

The more shit there is in there, the slower your computer will be.

People who have alot of pictures and music in the "My Downloaded" "My Picture" and "My Music" folders of "My Documents" should moves these files elsewhere outside of the working directory.

Also, try disabling your AntiVirus for a few moments and see if maybe it's causing the slow down.

nonlocal

TRIBE Member
Originally posted by The Watcher
Do you have alot of stuff in your "My documents" folder?

The more shit there is in there, the slower your computer will be.

People who have alot of pictures and music in the "My Downloaded" "My Picture" and "My Music" folders of "My Documents" should moves these files elsewhere outside of the working directory.