• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Mathmeticians, Computer Scientists, Physics dudes - What is random?

Shug

TRIBE Member
So I was thinking in the shower this afternoon about random number generation in programming (I do all my best thinking in the shower - your mind wanders)...

... and how random number functions in a wide range of languages aren't actually random. All the memory-resident functions that I know of make calls to a timed register from with the CPU (think it's the CPU, could be something higher level; I'm a high-level programmer, I don't care past the compiler/linker)... point is, it's not really random, it's the last few digits of a clock somewhere.

In fact, the "non-randomness" of computer's random numbers is a big issue. As computation ability and speed of computing increases, that non-randomness can be addressed and taken advantage of (and already has in deeper computing) - it ends up causing deterministic issues in stuff like cryptography, that requires true randomness, for example... I remember reading about the problem of psuedo-randomness. It's enough of an issue that I've heard of encryption techniques that rely on digitized and then serialized photos of a specific instance of the wax in a lava lamp to provide random numbers...

... but that specific instance isn't even random either. It's a function of the inherently Chaotic (i.e. non-random) system of non-linear Fluid Thermodynamics.

So my question is two-fold. One, is there any branch of mathematics, physical systems, or computer systems that is capable of generating true random numbers?