1. Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, Toronto's largest and longest running online community. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register on the forum. You can register with your facebook ID or with an email address. Join us!

maternity clothing?

Discussion in 'Girl Stuff Forum' started by hahnsa, Jun 11, 2010.

1. hahnsa

hahnsa TRIBE Member

My best friend is pregnant. She lives in a small town in Alberta and will be visiting me in Toronto in August (at which point she'll be five months pregnant) and has asked me to take her shopping. While I am an expert shopper, not so much in the maternity department. Do any of you gals have any suggestions as to where are some hip maternity clothing stores in the downtown core? Looking to transform my girl into a yummy mummy.

Thanks!

2. r6bikerchick

r6bikerchick TRIBE Member

Can she afford tailoring? With an expert seamstress, I'm sure there are lots of non-maternity options that could be modified and she'd end up with generally hipper, custom clothes.

(Short answer: no - I know nothing about shopping for maternity clothes in DTTO).

3. Wiseman

Wiseman TRIBE Member

I think H&M have Maternity clothes now.

4. LeoGirl

LeoGirl TRIBE Member

There are some pretty cool shops downtown that maybe some of the other mum's can point you to, but they were beyond my budget so I went to the Thyme's and Motherhood available at most malls.

Some retailers are also offering Maternity, Old Navy, Gap, H&M off the top of my head.

5. sk8

sk8 TRIBE Member

I'm pretty much like Leo only I bought most of my stuff at Old Navy. There is some nice stuff out there, but I couldn't justify it for such a short time period on my budget. I also spent my pregnancies either in a field job or unemployed - so fashion wasn't an issue LOL.