• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

letter to newly elected premier dalton mcguinty

dj_jake_the_snake

TRIBE Member
feel free to let me know if there are any spelling or grammar mistakes. or if the content needs revising. cheers.

Hi newly elected Premier Dalton McGuinty. Congratulations on your success I wish you the best of luck. I wanted to write to you today for two reasons: First is regarding the drinking age law in Ontario. I am a university student and have seen many changes in the social organization that have not been good for business or for the students during this academic year. The double cohort has ushered in a younger group of students who have not been able to take advantage of the many social opportunities inside and outside the university faculties all across Ontario because they are not 19 years of age. I ask you please in the best interests of business and students to reduce the age to 18 years of age. The second matter concerns the hours of operation that businesses are allowed to sell alcohol. We live in a truly globalised society that is no longer 9am to 5pm. People no longer work the standard 40 hours per week. As a result constituents all across Ontario are not given the same opportunity to relax in social situations in bars and restaurants throughout the province because of outdated liquor laws. I ask you to please extend the drinking hours until 4am. I understand that there will be groups that oppose this extension citing that it will lead to more drunk driving fatalities. I ask you to please review the evidence first before believing these groups. I also ask you to remember that drunk driving will go on regardless of what time bars and restaurants are open until and that the actions of a few careless citizens are not cause for restrictions on the rest of us. I have already e-mailed my M.P. in my riding who u