• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

labour laws

nadine

TRIBE Promoter
I haven't posted in awhile, but I find myself in need of some good advice. I work part time in a restaurant and a lot of cutlery has been going missing. My employer have decided that it is unacceptable and are making all servers do a "garbage dig" each shift. Is it legal to make a server dig through garbage? They give us a pair of plastic gloves and 9 bags of garbage. I've tried to look on a few websites, but I haven't had much luck. Any insights????:confused:

Cannabis Seed Wedding Bands
That's fucking hilarious.
Which restaurant?

The labour board wouldn't really cover this, but WSIB would ensure that you're provided with the appropriate safety equipment to perform your job.

Job = digging through scraps of food and napkins
Safety equipment = rubber gloves.

nadine

TRIBE Promoter
daddyiwantchocolate said:
That's fucking hilarious.
Which restaurant?

The labour board wouldn't really cover this, but WSIB would ensure that you're provided with the appropriate safety equipment to perform your job.

Job = digging through scraps of food and napkins
Safety equipment = rubber gloves.

Lonestar...I thought it was ridiculous also. Not that there's anything wrong if this duty is in your job description, but this seems a bit strange? I assumed that it was a hazard to dig through garbage (possibly containing knives, broken glass etc.) equipped with a pair of plastic gloves.

Yeah, that's really stupid.
Theoretically they should be providing you with safety goggles, protective clothing (like one of those thin paper jumpsuit thingies), and for sure reinforced gloves.

You should call WSIB or whatever the fuck it calls itself these days and check it out with them.
If you were FT perm, you might have some sort of argument a la labour board, but even then it would be a stretch.