• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Im having doubts about college

Hawk Eye

TRIBE Member
I probably won't get any replys to this but I just thought i'd make a thread in case someone is thinking about the same stuff or has been thinking about the same stuff as me.

I go to college and this is my last year in my marketing program. I'm scared that i won't get a job bc i dont have a degree.
I went to college bc it's practical, so ill get hands on stuff, smaller class sizes and it's cheaper for me as I didn't want to be in a large debt.

My neighbour told me that i can't get into upper mgmt position unless i have a degree. I think that's dumb bc he said you can have any degree and get into upper mgmt.. but what if my program is really good and i have learned a lot and someone else doens't know as much as I do but have a degree so they will get hired or promoted and i will be left high and dry.

advice :(

MoFo

TRIBE Member
I sign and write references for people going into teacher's college or teaching positions.
But I can't officially teach without a degree.

In marketting, I am not so sure a degree is that important. Hm..

Gunark

TRIBE Member
I worked for a marketing company up until recently. You'll be glad to hear they just hired someone straight out of college for a fairly decent position.

Honestly in this industry a degree means dick all. It's 90% your attitude, personality, and your ability to talk the shit during the interview.