• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

I got fired today well sort of

Hipsterave

TRIBE Promoter
the vice president called me in the office and gave me a choice

1)keep working to a program that they will constantly monitor and if i deter from it in any way I will be fired without notice

2)resign and he will provide me a reference letter

I can get a reference letter from a few other sources in the company so Im not sure about that. I work in sales for a fortune 500 company and have been there 2 years less a month. Im wondering what I should do. Should I work it out until they fire me at least that way I can get an extra paycheck or resign? This was my first job out of school so I dont know my rights. any ideas?
lemme know what you think

Cannabis Seed Wedding Bands

seeker

TRIBE Member
This might sound negative, but it sounds like they've already made their decision about keeping you around (ie they've already mentally fired you). It sucks, but if you have the means, I'd say take the letter and hit the road. When you get an ultimatum from a company it's best to find a new company.

<edit> and speaking as somebody who was fired from their first 'real' job out of school, I can empathize with your position. I'm sorry to hear that things didn't work out. </edit>

Neo-Marxist

TRIBE Member
Originally posted by Hipsterave

1)keep working to a program that they will constantly monitor and if i deter from it in any way I will be fired without notice

I can get a reference letter from a few other sources in the company so Im not sure about that. I work in sales for a fortune 500 company and have been there 2 years less a month. Im wondering what I should do. Should I work it out until they fire me at least that way I can get an extra paycheck or resign? This was my first job out of school so I dont know my rights. any ideas?