• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

How hard is it to solder copper pipes?

alexd

Administrator
Staff member
I have looked at some youtube vids and it seems to be easy enough but I have never done it before. I need to solder maybe 4 joins in copper pipes under my sink. I am pretty handy for the most part, but I would hate to make joins that leak. Does the solder really flow all around the pipe by itself like they describe? Or is my attempting to solder copper pipes a disaster waiting to happen....

catilyst

TRIBE Member
Easy peasy. Key is to heat the pipe a lot before adding the solder.

Copper pipes and elbows are relatively cheap - best thing to do is buy a bunch, go outside and do dome practice pieces until you get the hang of it.

oddmyth

TRIBE Member
The hardest part is trying.

TIP: metal transmits heat very well so you may want to use a metal clamp or some very heat resistant gloves if you are attempting to hold the pipe as you heat it up.

alexd

Administrator
Staff member
The hardest part is trying.

TIP: metal transmits heat very well so you may want to use a metal clamp or some very heat resistant gloves if you are attempting to hold the pipe as you heat it up.
Good tip that on not holding the pipe with your bare hands. I woulda.

tribe cannabis accessories silver grinders

Re: Shoe

TRIBE Member
A good solder job is all in the prep. Clean the copper pipes and fittings meticulously - they should be super shiny and smooth. Hit the torch on the fitting where the pipe is on the inside (i.e., thickest part) and tap the solder on the back end (where it would be coldest) - that way you can be sure the rest is hot enough to keep the solder melted when it flows into the joint.