• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

House Music Lounges?

T_Dot_House

TRIBE Member
I’m new to the city and not really into the club scene like I used to be but still love house music! Curious to know if there are any lounges downtown that play garage, funky and groovy house to hang out and drink to? Or anything like that?

Thanks in advance,

Sean B

Cannabis Seed Wedding Bands

dvs

TRIBE Promoter
alto basso @ 718 college st.

djs dino & terry are there on fridays spinning soulful uderground dance music and saturdays with stephen byfield (spinning classic house, funk, garage) are great too.

here's a little description of the place...

From its location on College St. (718 College St.) in Toronto's "Little Italy" district, Alto Basso provides a music program specializing in deeply soulful house music as well as various genres of electronic and urban music.

Alto Basso is an oasis for mature individuals seeking an intelligent nightlife experience without the hassles of large clubs nor the elitism of so-called "upscale" lounges with VIP rooms and the like. Once you are inside Alto Basso, there will be no more ropes, checkpoints, or exclusive rules.

Alto Basso has carved a unique niche in Toronto's nightlife by going back to basics: the best DJ's, great service, a great menu featuring dishes with sumptuous ingredients, subtle yet stylish decor and lighting, friendly staff and a sound system that surpasses most, if not all, lounges/bars in the city. (the sound has just recently been upgraded as well.)