• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Headhunters and IT folks - Certifications?

Subsonic Chronic

TRIBE Member
Well... I've been working here for a couple of years now, and still haven't taken advantage of the fact that the company will pay for just about any IT-related course that I would like to take.

It's time I get my ass in gear and start milking this opportunity for what it's worth. This is happening because I can't really find anything (still) that I would want to go back to University for, but I obviously don't want to be stuck where I am right now, 10 years down the line. IT work isn't too painful, and the pay is alright, but I can do a lot better than my current situation.

So I want to know what kinds of certifications or courses would most benefit me if I were to try and expand my horizons a little, which ones are more or less mandatory for a lot of the jobs out there... that kind of stuff. Anything from html to A+, to general networking... I'm trying to find out which ones are most worth taking.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Pete

pr0nstar

TRIBE Member
A+ is always good to have I guess.
CNA if you want Novell
CCNA for Cisco Routers
MSCE if you wanna waste $$ ;)
RHCE if you like RedHat + Linux

pr0nstar

pr0nstar

TRIBE Member
As for courses, depends on what you want to follow.

I've taken a lot over the years... one I enjoyed the most was Introduction to Internetworking. Was about LAN/VLAN/WANs... TCP/IP the OSI, etc...

Others I've taken that were ok... but probably wont' apply to you unless you're Novell.

Z.E.N. Works
Z.E.N. for Servers
Windows Administration.

I've taken a bunch more, but they were stupid little Novell courses related to work, so you know...

Plus some of them were to touch on my CNA, I really should of went through and got my CNE, but too lazy.

pr0nstar :D