• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Grad school help

s1k

TRIBE Member
Hi all,

I'm going into my 4th year next year and i wanted to see if anyone on this board has had any experience. I'm looking to do a master in economics (development portion of it) and I know i need a high GRE score, 2 refrence letters from profs i do volunteer research with. Also GPA is important if your GRE is not high.

anyone have any insight from personal experience?

Sal De Ban

TRIBE Member
write down ALL the deadlines you need to know on one sheet. and get to your profs ahead of time - everyone is bothering your profs for letters so get on their good side. just be ahead of time for everything. this will make sure that you're only slightly behind in the end ;) !

emiwee

TRIBE Member
I don't know about economics programs specifically (I did my MSc in public health) but not all Master's programs require that you do the GRE. If the schools that interest you don't require that you have that component to your application, save yourself the money and stress.

I would suggest getting a letter from a professor who actually taught you (in addition to the ones that you have done volunteer work with). That person can give an indication of how you are with coursework and academics beyond volunteer research work.

GPA is generally most important, particularly if you don't have a lot of other experience to put on your CV (e.g., relevant work/research experience, publications, presentations). Put a lot of thought into your personal statment or thesis plan for your application.