• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

going out alone/meeting new people

nikki.classics

TRIBE Member
do you ever go out to clubs/bars/events, etc by yourself? looking for your thoughts/advice on this ladies.

here's my story: i'm pretty new to TO. none of the people i know are into the same stuff i am really, especially night life. for example my roomates only ever want to go to top-40 bars...and that's ok once in a while, but it's really not my thing. i've always been a bit of a loner, and i'm pretty independent and i don't mind doing stuff on my own. is it a bad idea to go out dancing by myself?

i'm trying to meet some new people with similar interests for other things, ie signing up for group fitness programs. i love my friends, but i'm finding it tough lately because it seems like we don't have anything in common. i kind of feel like a loser posting this, but i could use some advice on meeting new people.

have you been in this kind of situation before? what do you recommend?

Alex D. from TRIBE on Utility Room

erika

TRIBE Member
You are describing my situation :): I have some friends who like theatre, some who like books, some who like expensive restaurants or debates, and some who like this or that type of music, with very little crossover between them.
And I bore easily.
And I'm older than pretty well most people in clubs, because a lot of people my age have somehow decided that dancing until the wee hours of the morning is no longer appropriate for them or something.

I go out alone ALL THE TIME. I actually prefer it in many instances.
I generally end up chatting with people wherever I am, if where I am interests me.
If it's not, I move on (the advantage of arriving by yourself is that you aren't stuck somewhere if you don't like it).