• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, Toronto's largest and longest running online community. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register on the forum. You can register with your facebook ID or with an email address. Join us!

For those who have backpacked abroad before....

RumRogerz

TRIBE Member
Hey peeps,

I just booked my flights for my 2 month euro trip extravaganza (not that extravagant - just 3 countries)

I'll be backpacking it through the whole trip which means i'll need places to rest my weary and most likely dizzy head everynight.
I don't want hotels, and i'm leaning more towards hostels. I've never done something like this before, so i reach out, to the people of tribe for sage advice.
Right now, it's looking like this - i land in Paris, and have 2 months to fuck around europe. Most of my time will be spent in Italy; as i have lots of family that can accommodate me. As for Spain and France, i'll need to find hostels and i don't know how this shit is done. Do i book before i leave Canada? or just find one along my journeys and take a rest?
Annnnd..
any other advice on how to conduct myself as a backpacker?

Taro

TRIBE Member
2 months? you can do a lot in that period of time - you might want to see some more countries...

RumRogerz

TRIBE Member
yea, i'd like to, but that would rip a hole in my bank account. If i can, i want to take time to hit amsterdam. Ryanair has super ridiculous cheap flights within europe.
I'm staying a good month in Italy because i plan on seeing tons of relatives and dusting off my shotty Italian language.

Michlerish

Well-Known TRIBEr
That sounds great. You'll get to visit tonnes of cities in those 3 countries... some of the less "popular" ones too, which I would find most interesting!

milos

TRIBE Member