• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Finding a Job in Today's Market

Klubmasta Will

TRIBE Member
this was in the star today: Life as a member of the precariat: Fiorito | Toronto Star

it's an eye-opening article, about a 39 year old dude with a university degree that has not been able to find a full-time job that pays more than minimum wage. is this an unusual situation or is the job market really that much worse today than when i graduated?

when i think of my group of friends from highschool, almost all went to university or college and almost all ended up with decent jobs. even the ones that didn't go to university/college ended up as store managers, bank tellers, etc. and worked their way up from there, making a decent living. not all of them could afford or wanted to live in toronto, and so they moved to mississauga, oakville, brampton, barrie or ajax or wherever, and they bought houses and are raising families there.

is it a lot harder to find a decent job these days than it was, say, 10 or 20 years ago, or is the guy in the star article more of an exception than anything else?

Its a university degree but the guy had a Fine Arts university degree.
This.

The thing is too, they're not really saying what he's got in the way of marketable skills - computer design skills is kind of vague in describing what he can do. There are still plenty of people that I know that have skills that are applicable to a wide range of fields and don't have a degree - it's applicable experience that counts a lot towards their having got hired. Networking really helps as well, which I find some of the younger generation can do really well on social media, but in person, it's kind of tougher for them to speak the language that employers are looking for when selecting a candidate.