• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Finding a clubby venue for a bday party

Skipper

TRIBE Member
So I know that many of you have found smaller venues around the city to throw a private or semi-private party (for birthdays or what not), and I'm wondering how to go about throwing my own little event.

I'm looking at a Sat night in July, probably July 9.
The venue would have to accomodate 50-75 people and have a DJ set up. (tables, not just CDJs)

I've never done this sort of thing before, and really it wouldn't be much of a big event, I just want a venue where I can be sure my party would get in, wouldn't be charged cover, and I could have control over the music for the night. I wouldn't mind if there were other people there as part of the venue's regular crowd.

a martini bar/lounge type thing would be ideal - like Lub, or Bird Lounge (tho I remember Bird being quite small).

Any suggestions would be appreciated!!

technowelt

TRIBE Member
The Rhino on queen st has a 2nd floor that they rent for parties, I think it is about $50, and you get a bartender. It is not the nicest, but it is cheap and private.

tribe cannabis goldsmith - gold cannabis accessories

Subsonic Chronic

TRIBE Member
Shit... I should probably do the same soon. Gotta figure out a place for b-day drinks in a couple of weekends, although I don't need any kind of dj setup - just alcohol.

Skipper

TRIBE Member
Well Pete there are a ton of places that have alcohol :p

I've never done this, but I'm sort of ancipating having issues where a venue already has a Sat night crowd and Sat night DJ...(doesn't Beba?)

I like IV lounge but I'm thinking something more upscale. Last year I was on the patio of the drake, and there was another party there where TK was spinning - I guess it was someone's bday and they were able to throw the party there.

kate

TRIBE Member