1. Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, Toronto's largest and longest running online community. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register on the forum. You can register with your facebook ID or with an email address. Join us!

Detroit Lead Water Fiasco

Discussion in 'TRIBE Main Forum' started by ndrwrld, Jan 19, 2016.

1. ndrwrld

ndrwrld TRIBE Member

2. kyfe

kyfe TRIBE Member

brutal, financially and morally bankrupt

3. praktik

praktik TRIBE Member

Tons of fuckery, but also not surprising that issue like this happens in part of the country suffering from decades of economic downturn and neglect.

Calling it another Katrina is, in this sense, a well placed comparison...

4. coleridge

coleridge TRIBE Member

Let's be clear, it's the Flint Lead Water Fiasco.

The whole crux of this is that Flint decided to stop taking their water from Detroit.

The people responsible for this should be in prison.

As a municipal engineer I spend so much time preaching to people about how tap water is safe, stop buying bottled water, and then shit like this happens...

5. praktik

praktik TRIBE Member

^^ I hear ya.

Wife works on water quality with the MOE so we are often finding ourselves needing to advise on the benefits and zero risks of chlorination/fluoridation to hippie friends caught up in BS about municipal water...

Last edited: Jan 19, 2016
  6. djfear

djfear TRIBE Member

I'm also a believer of Toronto Water being completely safe to drink. They would also advise the public of any issues immediately for fear of being sued to oblivion if there was ever any outbreak for such a large organization.

Sucks about the Flint Michigan folks... reminds me of the Walkerton tragedy.

7. Snyder should be held personally responsible for the lawsuits that are going to come from this. And pay personally for all the medical bills resulting from the Legionnaire's disease from the people affected.