• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

cubase or reason

physix

TRIBE Member
well.....

when you say "beginner", do you mean that you have
absolutely no idea how to do anything? how computer
music producing works on a general level?

i'd used to say that Reason would be best for an
absolute beginner, esp. since M-Audio produces a
really good CD-Rom tutorial PRODUCING MUSIC WITH
REASON. Also, the book REASON 2.5 IGNITE is really
good for taking it to the next level, too.

However, since AskVideo came out with the CD-Rom
tutorial CUBASE SX ED (heh), it is now possible for an
absolute beginner to come out swinging with that
program (Cubase SX/SL, that is).

So, you are now at an advantage.

Both programs are good...

and now, both programs have a comprehensive
tutorial that starts from the beginning and holds
your hand in setting things up and what not.

You can get both tutorials from www.audiomidi.com
and they both come with demo versions of the
programs... so you can test it out before you buy.

Static EQ

TRIBE Member
Seriously, if it your first program I would get FL Studio (if you want recording).

And then eventually move to Cubase or Sonar.

ludikris

TRIBE Member
Lordy, fruity loops would not be the way to go. You'd be hard pressed to find any professionals out there using fruity loops as the heart of their studio.

tribe cannabis goldsmith - gold cannabis accessories

physix

TRIBE Member
he said "starting out", Ludikris.

geez.

not everyone needs to be a "professional" right out the bat.

FL is actually really good for learning.

Especially the FL Studio 5

I mean, you'd wind up getting something else later, tho.
but it is good for learning.

Mike Richards

TRIBE Member
Originally posted by ludikris
cubase by far.

you can't record audio live into reason. Recording live is kinda necessary IMO.