• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Buying a Used Car

R4V4G3D_SKU11S

TRIBE Member
I'm buying a used car in the next few weeks.

I have zero experience going this route and am worried about getting hosed.

I'm looking at 4-5 year old cars. I may only need the car for one year.

What do I need to know? I'm looking for strategies, tips, etc.

xtcfreak

TRIBE Member
You could check the obvious things like condition underneath, under the oil cap for "mayonaise" looking sludge, take it for a test drive and listen for sounds etc, but the best thing you can do is get it checked over by a good mechanic.

Also, ask the seller to provide a car proof report.

Are you going to buy from a dealer or private sale (ie Kijiji / CL)?

Jay

kyfe

TRIBE Member
Most vehicles these days are well made but certain models have issues, which car you are looking at as that would really determine what you need to look for.

tribe cannabis accessories silver grinders

praktik

TRIBE Member
WE got a used car recently and it was my first rodeo - looking for VW's so basically we just went to a whole wack of used dealers on the west end and extending into southern ontario.

If you're new to this too I think maybe getting from a dealer would be good to help the peace of mind angle (moreso than buying online privately w/ an individual anyway).

Even if you dont go w/ a dealer picking a day or two and hitting up a circuit of dealers can help you get a feel for the cars in your price range and be a good bit of research on what you end up getting finally...

glych t.anomaly

TRIBE Member
i would say buy my 6 speed Passat !

but i you are looking at 4-5 years old that wont work as mines like 6 years old now.