• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

bringing gifts to Cuba

Jennika

TRIBE Member
Hi all,

Tearer and I are going to a resort outside of Santiago de Cuba the first week of April. I want to bring clothes, school supplies and other gifts to give to people down there but I'm unsure of the proper way to do it. any tips on what to bring and how to dispense it? I want to maximixe this opportunity to share and be charitable.

I remember reading in the NC thread a while back that often the women like if you give them make-up and body lotions. do they have to be un-opened or will they take good contidion used products?

any tips would be great, it's my first time going there and I want to give back.

AshG

yeah my bro and his wife did this when we went down last august.

there's not easy way to distribute as its rumoured that a lot of the distribution venues are corrupt.

we took a moped tour around parts of the island(my god, the poverty in some places is astounding...) and stopped along some select spots to hand deliver pencils, etc.

best we did was to get off the beaten tourist path, and hit up some more remote villages.

also, leave things for the maids wherever you're staying.
there are strict rules about them asking for things from foreigners, but just leave some stuff for them.

littlenutty

TRIBE Member
anything that is in good condition is usually well received, its not like that have something to compare it to...

when i was in trinidad i brought make-up that i didn't use much, shower gels and soaps that i had accumulated over the years, clothes, razors, hair elastics, slippers, old purses that i never used and a bunch of old magazines.