• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Bartending

Alita

TRIBE Member
I'd like to get a job bartending for spring/summer...maybe longer

I have no experience (bar/wait/host) and no smart serve. Does anyone have any recommendations how to go about looking for jobs and starting out? Do I need to get a certificate? Can I just walk into places and ask? Are the online listings anywhere? Where is the best place to go for a certificate? ...right now I'm looking at "the bartending school of Ontario"

Help is much appreciated :D

Bumbaclat

TRIBE Member
Alita said:
Where is the best place to go for a certificate? ...right now I'm looking at "the bartending school of Ontario"
If you're going to get certified then this is the place but most bartenders will tell you not to bother... or just smartmove

Bumbaclat

TRIBE Member
Also, everyone wants to bartend spring/summer. Get a job bartending now and wait. unless you are really good looking it will be hard to pick up a job in the spring

Alita

TRIBE Member
Well I'm starting to look now ... just unsure how to go about it. The whole no experience thing feels weird.

tribe cannabis accessories silver grinders

dyad

TRIBE Member
most places want you to have your smartserve already because then they dont have to pay for it. it used to be that you needed to go through a company but now you can just do it yourself online at www.smartserve.org

joey

TRIBE Member
unless you are crazy hot you will not get a job as a bartender with no experience. that's all there is no it. conssider just trying for a serving job and then try to get ptomoted from within

smart serve isnt a big deal. most places have the capability to sertify you on site

Bumbaclat

TRIBE Member
Ditto Much said:
Are you hot?