• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

Auto Insurance Question

Rocky

TRIBE Member
Given the Auto Insurance Consumers' Bill of Rights:

1. You have the right to purchase auto insurance coverage.
Is the following statement from an insurance broker true?

As a broker, I can’t setup a policy knowing you are going to be cancelling.
I asked for a short term insurance quote for my motorcycle and inquired about whether early cancellation fees apply and, if so, how they are calculated. I am going to be over in Europe this later this summer, and, since the insurance coverage is limited to Canada and North America, I would need to cancel my policy just before flying over there with the motorcycle.

kyfe

TRIBE Member
Given the Auto Insurance Consumers' Bill of Rights:

Is the following statement from an insurance broker true?

I asked for a short term insurance quote for my motorcycle and inquired about whether early cancellation fees apply and, if so, how they are calculated. I am going to be over in Europe this later this summer, and, since the insurance coverage is limited to Canada and North America, I would need to cancel my policy just before flying over there with the motorcycle.
it is true

as for options purchase a policy and then cancel when you are leaving the country.

the cancellation fee will be calculated using a short rate fee schedule, the further you are into your term the lower the cancellation fee will be.

The other option (if you plan to come back) is to suspend your coverage via endorsement read all about it here OPCF-16

Liability

TRIBE Member
it is true

as for options purchase a policy and then cancel when you are leaving the country.

the cancellation fee will be calculated using a short rate fee schedule, the further you are into your term the lower the cancellation fee will be.