• Hi Guest: Welcome to TRIBE, the online home of TRIBE MAGAZINE. If you'd like to post here, or reply to existing posts on TRIBE, you first have to register. Join us!

a thank you letter, from a stranger

ndrwrld

TRIBE Member
a guy just knocked on my door...came in and asked me if i was the " smoker of the house "...i said i was...he hands me an envelope...im a little wierded out, but i open the envelope, and theres a card...the front has a cute doggy holding a card in its mouth, with THANKS on the card.
inside, is written...
" To whom it may concern...
due to being laid off from work, having to resort to social assistance, paying more rent than i can afford to, and being on such a small budget, and having a 3 year old son that i pay support to, you can say i live way below the poverty line.
and the fact ive been smoking for more than 20 years, now i cant even afford tthe luxury of buying a pack of smokes, it has been MORE than relieving that you put your smokes out halfway, and it has helped me out in more ways than you will ever know. I know you have seen me take them and the fact you didnt say anything doesnt make me feel any lower than i already do myself.
I just wanted to take the time to thank you for helping another fellow man even if you didnt know you were helping. I wanted to bring a bag and clean around the outside ashtray as a thank you, but after seeing your dog i didnt want you to see some stranger outside your home, and unleash your dog on me ( haha you know what i mean ? ).
so i decided to buy you this card instead. p-s- before getting laid off i was a hairdresser, so if you ever need a haircut feel free to drop by anytime...my name is Jay and i live at ?? Benson avenue...
and once again, thank you. "

Needless to say, im completely flabberghasted, to receive this card...im still in a bit of shock...i talked to Jay for a few minutes...hes completely turned his life around for the good...a really genuine nice guy.
Jay just made my week.